The Winemaker's Wife

The Winemaker's Wife

The author of the engrossing international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale.

Champagne, 1940: Inès has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau, when the Germans invade. As the danger mounts, Michel turns his back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Résistance. Inès fears they’ll be exposed, but for Céline, half-Jewish wife of Chauveau’s chef de cave, the risk is even greater—rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fate.

When Céline recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness, and Inès makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator, they risk the lives of those they love—and the champagne house that ties them together.

New York, 2019: Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced, insisting on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive—and a tragic, decades-old story to share. When past and present finally collide, Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauveau.

Title:The Winemaker's Wife
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781982112295
Format Type:

    The Winemaker's Wife Reviews

  • Erin

    Thanks to NetGalley and Simon & Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review. Kristin Harmel presents a well researched and detailed story set in wartime Reims France( 1938-1...

  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews

    France, wine, WWII, present day, and love - all of this wrapped into one amazing, difficult-to-put-down read.We meet Inez, Celine, Michel, Thor, Liv, and Liv's French grandmother, Edith, as the story ...

  • Zoe

    Informative, beautiful, and tragic!The Winemaker’s Wife is a stirring, immersive story set in France during the early 1940s, as well present day, that is told primarily from three different perspect...

  • Paige

    The synopsis provided for this story is a bit misleading. Less than 15% of the story deals with the French Resistance; and moreover, it goes into little to no details about what they did other than hi...

  • Krista

    Rating: 3.5 stars rounded down to 3 starsThis is a dual timeline book mainly focusing on northern France during WWII. There are some contemporary chapters interwoven which helped propel the storyline....

  • Britany

    This is one of those times where I feel finishing the book was redemption. This book features the Champagne area of France during WWII. We have alternating storylines with Ines Chauvin, Edith Thierry ...

  • DeAnn

    3 champagne starsThis is a well-researched historical fiction tale set in the champagne region of France, mostly during WWII. I truly enjoyed learning more about the process of maintaining a vineyard,...

  • Jenna Bookish

    My thanks to NetGalley and Gallery Books for sending me an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and are not influenced by the publisher. Okay. Minority o...

  • Selena

    I received a free copy of The Winemaker's Wife by Kristin Harmel from Goodreads for my honest opinion.A wonderful work of Historical Fiction with dual time lines that take place between World War II a...

  • Shelby

    In the Champagne region of France, newlyweds Michel and Ines owned a winery by the name of Maison Chauveau. During the 1940s when WWII breaks out, the Nazis invade their small town and take over the s...